St John's Church, Bishopsteignton Vestry and APCM Minutes 2020

Minutes of the Joint Meeting of Parishoners held at St John the Baptist Church, Bishopsteignton at 10.45 a.m. on Sunday 11th October 2020

Present: Richard Frost (Team Reader: Chair) and 22 parishoners.

- 1. Richard opened the meeting with some introductory remarks about the organization of meetings during covid-19 restrictions.
- 2. Apologies for absence. Rev'd Jane Frost.
- 3. Confirmation of Minutes. The Minutes of the 2019 meeting were available on the web and through the Team Office. They were proposed for approval by Sir Andrew Ridgway, seconded by Mrs Hilary Corlett. This was carried unanimously and the Minutes were signed as a correct record.
- 4. Election of Churchwardens. Mr Keith Hutchings (fourth year). The nomination form was signed by Elizabeth McNamara (proposer) and Roger Avery (seconder). Mrs Elizabeth McNamara (second year). The nomination form was signed by Roger Avery (proposer) and Hilary Corlett (seconder). There being no other nominations, both candidates were declared to be elected.
- 5. Richard closed the meeting with thanks to those who had attended.

Minutes of the Annual Parochial Church Meeting held at St John the Baptist Church, Bishopsteignton at 10.55 a.m. following the Joint Meeting of Parishoners on Sunday 11th October 2020

Present: Richard Frost (Chair) and 22 parishoners.

- 1. Apologies for absence. Rev'd Jane Frost.
- 2. Minutes of the APCM held on 3rd April 2019 were available on the web and through the Team Office. It was proposed by Hilary, seconded by Belinda, that these should be agreed as a correct record. They were signed by the Chairman.
- 3. Matters arising. None.

- 4. Report of the Church Electoral Roll Officer. Roger detailed the changes to the Roll which had been made during the year. He reported that, following the updating in April the number was 87: as of today it stood at 81.
- 5. Presentation of the Annual Accounts. In introducing the accounts (which had already been agreed by the PCC), John noted that the church currently faced a weekly shortfall of about £250. The meeting received the report and accounts.
- 6. Elections: Elizabeth McNamara was unanimously re-elected and Roger Avery unanimously elected as Deanery Synod Representatives.
- 7. Alan Gillespie, nominated by Keith Hutchings and seconded by Elizabeth McNamara, was unanimously elected as a member of the Parochial Church Council. There remain three vacancies on the PCC. One behalf of the Council, the Chairman thanked the people who were standing down Jeff Gibson, Tricia Morris, Janet Paget and Janet Williamson for their hard work over the past years. The Chairman led short prayers commissioning the people who would serve on the PCC during 2020-21.

The Chairman noted that election of Stewards was now delegated to PCCs.

- 8. Independent Examiner of Accounts. Fran Edwards proposed, seconded by John Plumb, that Mrs Ellen Howard should be appointed. This was carried unanimously. The Chairman, on behalf of the Council, expressed appreciation of Mrs Springfield Lambert's work in this role over the past years.
- 9. Any other business. None.

The Chairman closed the meeting with an Epistle reading at 10.55 a.m.