Minutes of Annual Church Meeting, St Michael's the Archangel, East Teignmouth, 30th April 2023

Present: See attached attendance sheet.

Apologies: Giles Hatch, Rev Carol Green, Derek Whitty, Angela Price

Opening Prayers and Introduction led by Elizabeth Burren

All reports and financial reports are available on the team website. Hardcopies are also available, by request, for anyone who does not have access to the website.

Minutes of Last Vestry Meeting 24th April 2022 – Signed as a true and accurate

record. Proposed Reg Lake Seconded Jonathan Bryant All in Favour

Matters Arising - No matters arising

Election of Church Wardens

Reg Lake to continue. Proposed Paula Peat, Seconded Lesley Heffer all in favour Jonathan Bryant to continue. Proposed Paula Peat, Seconded Lesley Heffer all in favour.

Elizabeth Burren gave a vote of thanks to Reg and Jonathan on behalf of St Michaels.

Any Other Business – None notified.

Minutes of Annual Parochial Church Meeting

The Reports

Available on the Haldon Team website and not read out during the meeting.

Present: As Above

Apologies: As Above

- 1. Minutes of meeting 24TH April 2022 The minutes were signed as a true and accurate record. Proposed Reg Lake, Seconded Liz Whitty all in favour.
- 2. Matters Arising none
- **3. Reports** All available on line.

4. Appointment of Independent Examiner – John Thomasson proposed by Christine Vince Seconded By Reg Lake all in favour.

5. <u>The Elections and Appointments</u>

<u>Deanery Synod Representatives</u> Diana Perryman – Re-elected uncontested (2 years) Liz Whitty – Re-elected uncontested (2 years)

<u>Current PCC Members:</u> Paula Peat (secretary) Christine Vince (treasurer – Resigned) Reg Lake (ex officio – Warden) Fred Price – Reelected (3 years remaining) Ian Radford (Resigned) Jonathan Bryant (ex officio – Warden) Derek Whitty (electoral roll officer) - Reelected (3 years remaining) Liz Whitty (Ex Officio Deanery Synod Rep) Diana Perryman (Ex Officio Deanery Synod Rep) Stewart Henchie (2 years remaining) Giles Hatch (1 year remaining) Lesley Heffer (co-opted in 2022) Elected (3 years remaining)

Two new nominations received: Michael Fincham – Proposed Reg Lake, Seconder Jonathan Bryant Ben Heffer – Treasurer – Proposed Paula Peat, Seconder Reg Lake All in favour

One vacancy remains unfilled.

A very special vote of thanks was given by Reg Lake to Christine Vince our outgoing treasurer. Christine has been our church treasurer for fourteen years taking over from the late John Perriton. Reg Expressed the gratitude of the clergy and church for Christine's diligence in undertaking, what is a difficult and sometimes stressful role. Christine replied to Reg explaining that the role of treasurer is now a very different one to the one she took on all those years ago. Reporting is now no longer paper based and uses software packages to report and claim gift aid, etc. There is to be a handover period to our new incoming treasurer Ben Heffer.

6. Any Other Business

A vote of thanks went to Rev Jayne Frost as she moves onto pastures new. She has worked extremely hard and we will all miss her terribly and we are eternally grateful for her mission in our community.

7. Meeting Closed with Prayer by Elizabeth Burren

FIRST MEETING OF NEW PCC

- Election of Officers: Vice Chair – Reg Lake Treasurer – Ben Heffer Proposed Reg Lake, Seconder Paula Peat Secretary – Paula Peat Electoral Roll – Derek Whitty
- 2. Date of next meeting 30th May at 7.30 at St Michaels.