DRAFT

Minutes of the Meeting of Parishoners held at 7.00 p.m. on 3rd May 2023 at St John the Baptist Church, Bishopsteignton

Present: Rev'd Keith Robinson (Chair) and 17 parishoners.

Liz McNamara (Churchwarden) said a short prayer.

- 1. Rev'd Keith opened the meeting by introducing himself and explaining why, in the absence of Rev'd Carol, he had been asked to chair the meeting.
- 2. Apologies for absence: Rev'd Carol Green, Nick Gardiner, Sue Gardiner, Rosy Plumb.
- 3. Confirmation of Minutes. The Minutes of the 2022 meeting were available on the web through the Team Office. They were proposed for approval by Liz McNamara, seconded by Keith Hutchings. This was carried and the Minutes were signed as a correct record.
- 4. Election of Churchwardens. Mr Keith Hutchings (seventh year). The nomination form was signed by Rosy Plumb (proposer) and Roger Avery (seconder). Mrs Elizabeth McNamara (fourth year). The nomination form was signed by Roger Avery (proposer) and Hilary Corlett (seconder). There being no other nominations, both candidates were declared to be elected.
 - To applause, the Chairman thanked Keith and Elizabeth for all the work that they had done, and were continuing to do, for the church.
- 5. Rev'd Keith closed the meeting with thanks to those who had attended.

DRAFT

Minutes of the Annual Parochial Church Meeting, held at St John the Baptist Church, Bishopsteignton following the Meeting of Parishoners on Wednesday 3rd May 2023

Present: Rev'd Keith Robinson (Chair), the Churchwardens, Treasurer and Secretary and 13 members of the Church Electoral Roll.

- 1. Rev'd Keith opened the meeting and noted that all the necessary papers had been published on the Haldon Team website and that a few hard copies were available.
- 2. Apologies for absence. As for the Joint Meeting of Parishoners.
- 3. Minutes of the 2022 APCM were available on the web through the Team Office. It was proposed by Belinda Wollen, seconded by Keith Hutchings, that these should be agreed as a correct record, and they were signed by the Chair.
- 4. Matters arising. None.
- 5. Annual Report and Electoral Roll Officer's Report. The Reports for 2022 (copies available on the Haldon Team web site) were received and approved. Roger Avery, Electoral Roll Officer, reported that there were currently 76 names on the Roll.
- 6. Financial Statement and Accounts for 2022. These had been approved by the Independent Examiner of Accounts. John Stevenson proposed and Nigel Wollen seconded that these should be accepted and this proposal was carried nem con. There were no questions to the Treasurer.
- 7. Keith Hutchings proposed and John Plumb seconded that Mrs Ellen Howard should again be appointed Independent Examiner of Accounts. This was carried nem con.
- 8. Election of two lay Deanery Synod representatives for 2023-26. Liz McNamara and Roger Avery were prepared to continue. There were no other candidates and they were declared elected.
- 9. Current PCC membership. No current members of the PCC had reached the end of their period of office and all were prepared to continue, although Rev'd Jane and Richard Frost ceased to be members on 30th April on their move to Marldon. Alan Gillespie (proposed by Roger Avery and seconded by Hilary Corlett) and Belinda Wollen (proposed by Diane Hutchings and seconded by Jeff Gibson) had been nominated and were duly declared elected with none against or abstaining.

The current composition of the PCC is therefore

		Date of
		Election
Rev'd Carol Green	Team Rector	
(vacancy)	Team Vicar	
Keith Hutchings	Churchwarden	2017
Elizabeth McNamara	Churchwarden	2019
John Plumb	Treasurer	
Roger Avery	Secretary	ex officio because Deanery Synod
		representative
Ian Boyd		2022
Hilary Corlett		2021
Jeff Gibson		2022
Alan Gillespie		2023
John Stevenson		2022
Belinda Wollen		2023

- 10. The safeguarding documents *Children*, young people and vulnerable adult safeguarding policy statement of St John's Bishopsteignton and St John's Bishopsteignton parish safeguarding policy statement: statement of safeguarding principles were received and approved. A laminated copy of the former will be placed on the main church notice board.
- 11. Rev'd Keith closed the meeting with all present saying *The Grace* at 7.21 p.m.